Common Core for Supervisors

The Common Core for Supervisors consists of the following six topic areas: 

  1. Casework Supervision
  2. Child Welfare Policy and Practice
  3. Evidence-Based Practice
  4. Fiscal Essentials
  5. Educational Supervision
  6. Managing for Results

The curriculum series is delivered statewide by CalSWEC's in-service training partners. New supervisors are required to complete all six modules within the first year of hire or promotion.  

Each Common Core content area is based on a set of measurable learning objectives for knowledge, skills, and values essential to the provision of excellent service to families and children who participate in California‚Äôs county child welfare programs.  

The Statewide Training and Education Committee (STEC) determined the level of standardization for each content area of the Common Core Curricula for Child Welfare Supervisors.

Standardized information and delivery, statewide:

Standardized information, with detailed instructions on delivery:

General Information About Using and Citing the California Common Core Curricula for Supervisors

Overview Documents

Other Curriculum Resources

  • The National Child Welfare Workforce Institute (NCWWI) Leadership Academy for Supervisors offers free online training for supervisors to improve supervision skills and prepare supervisors for advancement as part of succession planning. Learn more about it at the NCWWI website.