Resource Family Approval (RFA) Training Being Piloted

Improved Processes Will Be Used Statewide in 2017

A curriculum is being piloted that supports county and state efforts to streamline the approval process for resource families—formerly called foster families—and improve permanency procedures for children and youth in care. 

The program, Resource Family Approval (RFA), is a unified, family-friendly, and child-centered approval process. It will replace the existing processes for the procedures listed below by combining elements of all of them into a single approval standard:

  • Licensure of foster family homes;
  • Approval of relatives and non-relative extended family members as foster care providers or legal guardians; and
  • Approval of adoptive families. 

Pictured, left to right, are RFA Trainers Juanita Arroyo of CDSS, Kate Acosta of CCTA, and Leslie Mendoza of CDSS.

Additionally, RFA will provide greater support to relative and non-related extended family member caregivers, reduce placement moves and improve permanency processes for children and youth. 

RFA is a partnership of CalSWEC, the California Department of Social Services (CDSS), Community Care Licensing (CCL)Central California Training Academy (CCTA), and Ventura County. 

Early Implementers

A total of 13 counties are involved as early RFA implementer counties, piloting the process that will be in place statewide starting in January 2017. The counties are Butte, Kings, Madera, Monterey, Orange, San Francisco, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Stanislaus, Siskiyou, Ventura, and Yolo.

The new RFA curriculum, developed by CalSWEC with CDSS and Shared Vision Consultants, will be available next month, on March 1, and will be delivered to implementing counties by the Regional Training Academies this spring and summer.

For more information