Three CalSWEC Staff Receive UC Berkeley's Spot Awards

June 1, 2017

The latest CalSWEC staff to receive UC Berkeley’s Spot Awards are Title IV-E Stipend Program Project Manager Rose Chahla, Database Analyst Afton Hencky, and Training and Curriculum Specialist Melinda Iremonger.

CalSWEC Executive Director Virginia Rondero Hernandez extended her congratulations to the recipients, noting, "It's so nice to know that your efforts have been acknowledged by our leaders and the University. We are proud of you!”

Spot Awards are designed to recognize special contributions, as they occur, for a specific project or task. They are generally for a special contribution accomplished over a relatively short time period. They let employees know that someone has noticed their noteworthy contribution. At the same time, it recognizes and reinforces the behaviors and values that are important at UC Berkeley.

Whatever the contribution being recognized, it reflects at least one of UC Berkeley’s Operating Principles:

  • We include an excel, together 
  • We imagine and innovate
  • We simplify
  • We are accountable to each other
  • We focus on service

RELATED: Read more about UC Berkeley's Recognition & Achievement Awards

In her nomination of Ms. Chahla, Evaluation and Research Director Sandhya Rao Hermon stated:

“Rose Chahla has gone above and beyond expectations in assisting me in the writing up of our paper on ‘Stress and Satisfaction.’ From our first meeting, two months ago, she has run with the project, conducting literature searches, writing up sections, reaching out to me for additional clarification, and meeting all deadlines. She is just a wonderful and positive person who has a can-do attitude. Writing journal articles is not within her job description, but she has jumped in with both feet, working on the task with diligence and enthusiasm while not letting any other balls drop. She provides an excellent example of including and excelling together."

In his nomination of Ms. Hencky, Technology and Instructional Design Director Christopher Cajski stated:

“In keeping with the UC Berkeley operating principle ‘We focus on service,’ Afton has demonstrated exceptional willingness to volunteer for—and actively contribute to—efforts that support CalSWEC's mission. As a competent and collaborative teammate, Afton adds value to the projects she is involved in. This includes her recent participation as a volunteer member of the CalSWEC website upgrade committee, on which she has agreed to be the point person to explore technical features that will enhance our website. It is for this project that we nominate Afton for a Spot Award."

In her nomination of Ms. Iremonger, former Child Welfare In-Service Training Director Melissa Connelly stated:

“Melinda has worked effectively this year to reflect the UC Berkeley Operating Principle 'We focus on service' through her work engaging with partners around the state and her work to build and maintain online toolkits used by hundreds of people around the state."

RELATED: Read more about Melinda Iremonger

Previous CalSWEC Spot Awards recipients include: 

  • Carolyn Shin, Director, Title IV-E Stipend Program: We include and excel, together (2014)
  • Mavis Njoo-Lau, Research Administrator, Regional Training Academy Coordination Project, and Integrated Behavioral Health: We focus on service (2014)
  • Jane Turbiner, Research Administrator, Title IV-E Stipend Program: We focus on service  (2014)
  • Phyllis Jeroslow, Training and Curriculum Specialist: We include and excel, together (2015)
  • Karen Ringuette, Publications and Production Specialist: We focus on service (2015)