Advisory Board

The CalSWEC Advisory Board...

  • is a diverse statewide body of university, county government, advocacy, and community representatives who share mutual interests, goals, and concerns related to social work education, workforce development, in-service training, and research and evaluation in publicly funded health care and social services setting, and
  • supports CalSWEC’s Mission to facilitate and support statewide partnerships for the education and training of social workers to ensure culturally responsive, effective, and high-quality behavioral health and human services delivery to the people of California.

On February 28, 2018, a special meeting of the CalSWEC Board of Directors was convened and amended bylaws were adopted to formalize proposed changes to board composition and meetings reflected in the CalSWEC strategic plan. As a result, CalSWEC Advisory Board members now include:

6 University Representatives

  • David Bassett, CSU Chico
  • Blake Beecher, CSU San Marcos
  • Kilolo Brodie, CSU Stanislaus
  • Peter Lee, CSU San Jose
  • Nancy Meyer-Adams, CSU Long Beach
  • Mary Rawlings, Azusa Pacific University
  • CADD Alternate, Laura Abrams, UCLA

4 Child Welfare Directors Association Representatives

  • Howard Himes, Napa County Health & Human Services
  • Elliott Robinson, Monterey County Department of Social Services
  • Juliet Webb, Tulare County Health & Human Services
  • CaSonya Thomas, San Bernardino County Human Services Agency

4 California Behavioral Health Directors Association Representatives

  • Yvonnia Brown, Merced County Behavioral Health & Recovery Services
  • Scott Gruendl, San Mateo County Behavioral Health & Recovery Services
  • Dennis Murata, Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health
  • Toni Navarro, Tri-City Mental Health Services
  • Los Angeles County Alternate, Angelita Diaz-Akahori

 California Department of Social Services Director or designee

  • Mary Sheppard, Integrated Services Unit, California Department of Social Services
  • Lisa Witchey, CDSS, Integrated Services Unit, CDSS Alternate

2 representatives from statewide adult and aging services organizations

  • Kathryn Kietzman, UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, Healthy Aging Partnerships in Prevention Initiative
  • Lori Delagrammatakis, Adult Protective Services Liaison, California Department of Social Services

1 National Association of Social Work-California executive director or designee

  • Janlee Wong, National Association of Social Workers - California

1 UC Berkeley-School of Social Welfare dean or designee

  • Jeffrey Edleson, University of California, Berkeley, School of Social Welfare

1 descendant or enrolled member of a California Tribal Nation(s) knowledgeable about California urban and rural Tribal communities

  • Vida Castaneda, Center for Families, Children & the Courts, Judicial Council of California

2 Regional Training Academy directors

  • David Foster, Central Training Academy, Fresno State
  • Jennifer Tucker-Tatlow, Academy for Professional Excellence, San Diego State

3 other stakeholder/funder representatives (ex: NASW, representatives of State agencies, associations, commissions, and/or relevant foundations)

  • Amy Levin, CSU Northridge         
  • Kimberly Mayer, California Institute for Behavioral Health Solutions
  • Stuart Oppenheim, Child & Family Policy Institute of California

Helpful links

Materials from recent meetings can be found on the  2017-18 Board Packets webpage.

Messages to the Advisory Board may be sent to: